Select Language

2nd APAEA PhD/Masters Scholars Conference, January 19-20, 2019

2nd APAEA PhD/Masters Scholars Conference, January 19-20, 2019
Changsha University of Science & Technology, Changsha, China
Theme “PhD/Masters Scholars Forum”
Call for Papers

The Asia-Pacific Applied Economics Association (APAEA) and the Changsha University of Science of Technology are jointly organizing the 2nd APAEA PhD/Masters Scholars Conference. The conference is open only to PhD/Masters scholars (students currently enrolled in a PhD/Master programme) in fields related to Business & Economics. Those with PhD can register to participate at the conference as discussants and session chairs. 

The objective is have a high level forum for PhD/Masters students, where they can not only present their research but also interact with more experienced (senior researchers) to improve their research. Only PhD/Masters students will be allowed to present papers. Each paper will have a discussant. A PhD/Masters student will be given 20 minutes to present paper; the discussant will then discuss the paper for 7 minutes & the author will have opportunity to respond; and 3 minutes will be for general Question & Answers. Each paper therefore will be allocated 30 minutes.

A key part of the conference will be a pre-conference tutorial where PhD/Masters scholars will be able to make prior appointments (upon registration) to meet and discuss their research ideas with selected members of the Advisory Board and Resource Persons. A list of these people can be found on our website at Selected people from these lists will be in attendance at the conference. Upon completion of conference registration a list of names will be provided and appointments will then be finalised.

Publication opportunities: Selected papers that meet publication standards or have potential of the standards expected will be invited for submission to Economic Modelling, Journal of International Financial Markets Institutions & Money, Emerging Markets Review, and Studies in Economics and Finance. Upon submission to any of these journals, the normal review process will be implemented and a final decision will be made based on the review process. Papers that meet the standards of publication in any one of the four journals will be selected by a panel of experts (Professors Jonathan Batten, Chun-Ping Chang, Paresh Narayan, and Niklas Wagner). The final decision will rest with respective journal editors.




All PhD/Masters scholars upon registering for the conference will be able to make prior appointments (for up to a maximum of 30 minutes) to meet and discuss their research ideas with selected members of the Advisory Board and Resource Persons on a one-on-one basis. A list of these people can be found on our website at Upon completion of conference registration a list of names will be provided and appointments will then be finalised.


Professor Gen-Fu Feng, Editor-in-Chief, Modern Economic Science, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China.

Professor Paresh Narayan, President APAEA & Alfred Deakin Professor, Deakin University, Australia. 

Professor Jonathan Batten, Editor-in-Chief, Emerging Markets Review & Journal of International Financial Markets Institutions & Money


Chen, Yin E (Changsha University of Science & Technology), Chair

Phan, Dinh (Taylor’s University, Malaysia), Chair

Feng, Gen-Fu (Xi’an Jiaotong University), Co- Chair

Chun-Ping Chang (Shih Chien University), Co-Chair

Shi, Yaobo (Xian University of Technology), Co-Chair

Wang, Ren-Zeng (South China University of Technology)

Yang, De-Yong (Beijing Technology and Business University)

Tang, Xiao-Hua (Liaoning University)

Xiang, Guo-Cheng (Hunan University of Science and Technology)

Wang, Jun-Hao (Zhejiang University of Finance and Economics)

Li, Changying (Shandong University)

Wen, Jun (Xi’an  Jiaotong University)


November 10, 2018: Deadline for draft paper or abstract submission (word files)

November 13, 2018: Decision conveyed.

December 20, 2018: Registration due.

PhD/Masters scholars are invited to submit their research Papers/ABSTRACTS (100-500 words in English) in word version to the following address: At this site you will need to register by creating an account.


Conference registration fee is 

US$350 (pre-conference tutorial + paper presentation)

US$300 (paper presentation only)

US$300 (pre-conference tutorial only)

For those wanting to attend only the pre-conference tutorial, they need to email sending their expression of interest.

Hotel and related travel costs are not included in registration fees. Full registration fees include registration materials, coffee breaks, and lunch. Methods of payment will be provided later.


Batten, Jonathan (University Utara, Malaysia)

Narayan, Paresh (Deakin University, Australia)

Ibrahim, Mansor (INCEIF, Malaysia)

Choong, Chee Keong (UTAR, Malaysia) 

Au Yong, Hui Nee (UTAR, Malaysia)

Tran, Vuong Thao (Monash University, Malaysia)

Narayan, Seema (RMIT University, Australia)

Rizvi, Syed Aun R. (LUMS, Lahore, Pakistan)

Rath, Badri (IIT, Hyderabad, India)

Phan, Dinh (Taylor’s University, Malaysia)

Sharma, Susan (Deakin University, Australia)

Rasid, Mohamed Eskandar Shah Mohd (INCEIF, Malaysia)

Hamid, Baharom Abdul (INCEIF, Malaysia) 

Thuraisamy, Kannan (Deakin University, Australia)

Reddy, Krishna (Australian Institute of Business, Australia)

Singh, Baljeet (University of the South Pacific, Fiji)

Ahmed, Huson (Deakin University, Australia)

Bannigidadmath, Deepa (Edith Cowan University, Australia)

Hayat, Aziz (Deakin University, Australia)

Liu, Ruipeng (Deakin University, Australia)

Saba, Irum (IBA, Pakistan)

Wagner, Niklas (University of Passau, Germany)

K.P, Prabheesh (Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, India)

Sukmana, Raditya (Universitas Airlangga, Indonesia)


Centre of International Affairs, Changsha University of Science of Technology, 960, 2nd Section, Wanjiali RD (S), Changsha. 

Modern Gloria Grand Hotel, 128, 2nd Section, Furong RD (S), Changsha.



Mt. Yuelu Scenic Spot: located in the Xiang River in Changsha City in the West Bank, is a national AAAAA-level tourist area. It includes Mt. Lu Scenic Spot, Juzizhou Scenic Spot, Yuelu Academy and Xinmin Institute, integrating “water, mountain, islet, city”, is Hunan culture spreading base and patriotic education base.

Shaoshan: the hometown of Chairman Mao, is a small mountain village about 100km southwest of Changsha, with beautiful scenery characterised by Hunan village atmosphere.

Zhangjiajie National Forest Park: located in the northwest of Hunan Province, is noted for its queer peaks, tranquil water and beautiful forests. About 97% of the park is covered with plants, which have 98 families and 517 species, which totals twice as much compared to Europe.

We look forward to meeting you in Changsha.

Best regards,

 The Organizing Committee